Marshall County

Welcome !

Marshall County ILGenWeb is a free genealogical site about the history of the county. We hope you find helpful clues for your research of ancestors and relatives of Marshall county.

Please consider contributing your pieces of Marshall county family history. YOUR HELP IS NEEDED. Our combined efforts can make this a great site for all who visit!

County Coordinator: Norma Hass

Co-Coordinator: YOU? Marshall ILGenWeb needs a local co-coordinator. Are you familiar with the area? Do you have a family tree connection to the county? Are you experienced at researching in Marshall County? If your answer to one of these questions is "Yes," please volunteer to be a Co-Coordinator.


When Illinois became a state in 1818, the area that is now Marshall county was part of Bond and Clark counties. As more counties were formed, the area became part of Pike, Sangamon, Putnam, and LaSalle counties.

Marshall county was established in 1839 from Putnam county. It was named in honor of John Marshall (1755-1835), who was a soldier during the American Revolution. He served in the US Congress, representing the state of Virginia. And, he served as Secretary of State and Chief Justice of the US Supreme Court.

In 1843, the western part of La Salle county became the eastern part of Marshall county.

The western part of Marshall county (area west of the Illinois River) was part of the Military Tract of Land granted to veterans of the War of 1812.


Marshall ILGenWeb is hosted by Genealogy Village.

Visit Our Neighbors
Bureau Putnam
Stark La Salle
Peoria Woodford
Search Our Archives

Marshall County Archives